Get the latest information about News

Arizona Game and Fish Commission honors conservationists at awards banquet

Posted January 18, 2018

Photo at left: Sen. Jeff Flake (left) accepts Federal Advocate of the Year award from Commission member Kurt Davis; Middle photo: 3TV Meteorologist Kim Quintero (left) accepts Media of the Year award from Commission member Jim Zieler; Right photo: Wildlife Manager Field Supervisor Luke Thompson (fourth from left) accepts North American Model Commissioners Award from AZ Game & Fish Commissioners (left to right) Pat Madden, Chairman Jim Ammons, Kurt Davis, Jim Zieler, and Eric Sparks. 


PHOENIX — Seventeen individuals and organizations were honored at the annual Arizona Game and Fish Commission Awards Banquet on Saturday, Jan. 13, at the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort in Phoenix. The awards recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the conservation of the state’s wildlife, its outdoor heritage, and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

Among those honored were Gov. Doug Ducey for State Advocate of the Year (the award was accepted on behalf of the governor by Natural Resources Policy Advisor Hunter Moore); Sen. Jeff Flake for Federal Advocate of the Year; 3TV Meteorologist Kim Quintero (one of two winners of Media of the Year); and Elizabeth (Beth) Woodin, who served on the Arizona Game and Fish Commission in the 1990’s and was president of the Arizona Heritage Alliance. Ms. Woodin sadly passed away last week and was awarded posthumously.

The complete list of award winners is:

* Award of Excellence: Lake Havasu Marine Association
* Award of Excellence: Elizabeth Woodin
* Youth Environmentalist of the Year: Chase Godbehere
* Media of the Year (2): Kim Quintero and National Veterans Magazine
* Conservation Organization of the Year: Phoenix Varmint Callers, Inc.
* Conservationist of the Year: Clyde Weakley
* Natural Resource Professional of the Year: Erica Stewart
* Volunteer of the Year: Ron Adams
* Educator of the Year: Michael Eilertsen
* Mentor of the Year: Justin Stewart
* Advocate of the Year – State: Gov. Doug Ducey;
* Advocate of the Year – Federal: Senator Jeff Flake
* Business Partner of the Year: OneAZ Credit Union
* Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year: John and Linda Vedo
* Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year: Double O Ranch
* North American Model Commissioners Award: Luke Thompson
* Chairman’s Award: Yuma Valley Rod and Gun Club

For more information about the Arizona Game and Fish Commission and the Commission Awards, visit