Watercraft Rules & Regulations
The owner of each motorized watercraft requiring numbering by Arizona must file an application for a registration number with the department, or its agent, on forms approved by the department. Except as provided by rule adopted by the commission, the application shall be signed by the owner of the motorized watercraft and shall be accompanied by evidence of ownership and an appropriate registration fee. Refer to the Arizona Boating Laws- Revised Statute, Title 5
Contact the department at 602 942-3000 before registering your watercraft in person or through the mail.
Regulations & Applications
- Watercraft Registration Application [PDF]
The Watercraft Registration Application form must be completed for a new watercraft registration and a transfer of ownership.
- Watercraft Bill of Sale [PDF]
“Bill of sale” means a written agreement transferring ownership of a watercraft and listing the following: the name of the buyer and seller; the manufacturer of the watercraft sold, if known; the hull identification number, unless exempted by R12-4-505; the purchase price and sales tax paid, if any; and the signature of the seller.
- Watercraft Letter of Gift [PDF]
This form is required to transfer the watercraft registration upon gifting it to another person.
- Watercraft Lienholder Notification [PDF]
This form is required when the watercraft to be registered has a lien on it, such as a bank loan. The lien holder will and must be notified of the attempted watercraft registration.
- Watercraft Certification of Loss [PDF]
This form is required to report and request replacement for lost or damaged registration or decals issued to AZ or Hull Identification number.
- Arizona Residency Requirements [PDF]
- The Boater’s Guide of Arizona: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
- Arizona Game and Fish Laws and Rules
Arizona Boating Accident and Casualty Report [PDF]
The operator or owner of every watercraft involved in a collision, accident or other casualty involving property damage exceeding $500 shall submit a written report directly to the Arizona Game and Fish Department within five days. Accidents involving death or serious injury shall be submitted within 48 hours.